Postgraduate Colloquium Awards 2015
At our recent Postgraduate Colloquium, awards for top papers when to Lerato Thakoli (Masters), Conor Eastment (Honours), Robyn Granger (Masters) and Emma Broadway (Honours).
CSAG Director Prof Bruce Hewitson – University of Cape Town’s newest A-rated researcher
Professor Bruce Hewitson is UCT’s newest A-rated researcher following the latest round of National Research Foundation ratings. A-ratings are awarded to researchers who are “unequivocally recognised by their peers as leading international scholars...
A Fellow of the Royal Society of South Africa
Michael Meadows, the head of deparment, has been elected a Fellow of the Royal Society of South Africa.
Etosha Pan, Namibia, July 2015: monitoring atmospheric dust & emission control processes
This is a collaboration with Oxford University on a British Funded Research Project, called Dust Observation for Models (DO4). Jore Von Holdt & Martin Hipondoka also contribute to a Namibian-South African NRF-funded project on dust emission hotspots.
Society of South African Geographer Student Conference
Five of our postgraduate students were sponsored to attend the conference, "Geography in a changing world", at UNISA. Here Emma Broadway, Londeka Mahlanza, Zach Glasser, Claire van Wyk and Lorna Born head out to the conference dinner.
Home > Home > Home


Tuesday, 3 May 2016

The EGS department welcomed over 50 new course work postgraduates during Orientation Week (8-12 February 2016). EGS hosts a number of postgraduate programmes, with students registered in the faculties of Science and Humanites. 

Publication Date:
Saturday, February 13, 2016 - 15:45

Four academic staff of the EGS department were promoted during this year's ad hominem promotion exercise. Dr Gina Ziervogel was promoted to an Associate Professor, while Drs Kevin Winter, Pippin Anderson and Shari Daya were promoted to Senior Lecturers.

Publication Date:
Thursday, November 12, 2015 - 03:15

Prof. Michael Meadows has been elected a Fellow of the Royal Society of South Africa.      

Publication Date:
Wednesday, November 11, 2015 - 19:00

Postgraduate Colloquium Awards 2015

Publication Date:
Wednesday, November 11, 2015 - 18:15