Professor Maano Ramutsindela - The New Deputy Dean of Science
Since the appointment of Geography Prof. WJ Talbot as UCT’s Dean of Science for the period 1961-1963, geographers have not been part of the deanery. This has changed in 2017 with the appointment of Professor Maano Ramutsindela.Congratulations!
EGS student Jody Brown named most outstanding intern at the City of Cape Town.
He received this accolade because of the exceptionally high standard of his work. Jody is pictured here receiving his award (middle) with Sarah Ward who heads up Energy and Climate Change at the City (left) and Councillor Raylene Arendse (right).
2016 Society of South African Geographers Centenary Student conference
The 2016 SSAG student conference celebrated 100 years of geography and brought students together from universities across South Africa. This was held in Stellenbosch University and was the 48th student conference celebrated in September, South...
PhD examines complex governance systems in Kosi Bay
Philile Mbatha left KwaZulu-Natal for UCT with a bag of prospects and family expectations. But a PhD is bringing the nGAP scholar full circle as she helps communities at a World Heritage Site in her home province.
Collecting in-situ data – EGS4038F Course Field Trip
The EGS4038F Course Field Trip took place on the 6th to 8th May on two family farms located between Hermanus and Standford. The mountainous view was right outside our doorstep, and the melodious sound of the lagoon brought an ambience of serenity....
Home > Home > Home


Thursday, 30 March 2017

As part of the welcome activities, our MPhil and MSc Environment, Society and Sustainability class recently spent a night away together to know one another them better.

Publication Date:
Thursday, May 19, 2016 - 19:45

The EGS department welcomed over 50 new course work postgraduates during Orientation Week (8-12 February 2016). EGS hosts a number of postgraduate programmes, with students registered in the faculties of Science and Humanites. 

Publication Date:
Saturday, February 13, 2016 - 15:45

Four academic staff of the EGS department were promoted during this year's ad hominem promotion exercise. Dr Gina Ziervogel was promoted to an Associate Professor, while Drs Kevin Winter, Pippin Anderson and Shari Daya were promoted to Senior Lecturers.

Publication Date:
Thursday, November 12, 2015 - 03:15

Prof. Michael Meadows has been elected a Fellow of the Royal Society of South Africa.      

Publication Date:
Wednesday, November 11, 2015 - 19:00