Diary of The Complex Human - Ecological Systems Class West Coast Fieldtrip
The Complex Human-Ecological Systems class recently went on a 2-day fieldtrip along the West Coast to Milnerton beach, Big Bay, Langebaan and Saldanha Bay. The purpose of the fieldtrip was to get first hand experience...
Congratulations to our prize winners Molly Anderson and Kolosa Ntombini!
Congratulations to Molly Anderson who won the best oral presentation in Human Geography at the Honours level and to Kolosa Ntombini who won the best oral presentation in Human Geography at the Masters level!
Chocolate, humour help the medicine go down
Every first semester for the past 33 years, Professor Mike Meadows has delivered the 09:00 first-year lecture on physical geography. At the end of last semester, he gave his “swansong” performance.
Professor Maano Ramutsindela is the new Dean of the Faculty of Science
Professor Maano Ramutsindela from the Department of Environmental and Geographical Science is now the Dean of the Faculty of Science
Congratulations! Professor Michael Meadows elected as Fellow of the African Academy of Sciences
Professor Meadows has been on the forefront of reconstructing Southern Africa’s paleoenvironment. The work has made a significant contribution to our understanding of the Late Quaternary winter rainfall
Home > Home > Home


Thursday, 2 April 2020
Prof Mike Meadows is awarded UCT College of Fellows 2018. Congratulations!

Professor Michael Meadows's research on the Quaternary palaeoenvironments of southern Africa has made significant contributions to an understanding of the changing climate and associated environmental conditions in the region

Publication Date:
Tue, 23 Oct 2018 - 10:15
EGS students scooped best presentation awards at SASAS 2018 Conference


The Environmental and Geographical Science Department post graduate students and staff recently attended the 34th Annual Conference of South African Society for Atmospheric Science. 

Publication Date:
Mon, 08 Oct 2018 - 14:15
Whose nature is it Anyway?

The urban ecology class recently went on a fieldtrip around Cape Town where they were exposed to a variety of different kinds of urban nature....

Publication Date:
Mon, 20 Aug 2018 - 08:30
EGS hosts International Association for Impact Assessment (IAIA)

The  EGS Department recently hosted Luke Moore (Western Cape Branch Young Professionals) and Claudia Schroder (Western Cape Student Branch) and Nqobile Lushozi (National Student Representative) of the International Association for Impact Assessment (IAIA)

Publication Date:
Thu, 26 Jul 2018 - 07:45