Professor Maano Ramutsindela is the new Dean of the Faculty of Science
Professor Maano Ramutsindela from the Department of Environmental and Geographical Science is now the Dean of the Faculty of Science
Congratulations! Professor Michael Meadows elected as Fellow of the African Academy of Sciences
Professor Meadows has been on the forefront of reconstructing Southern Africa’s paleoenvironment. The work has made a significant contribution to our understanding of the Late Quaternary winter rainfall
UCT awarded E- waste Green Certificate!
A UCT green success story! We are delighted to be part of an institution that has recently been recognised for its e-waste recycling
Hurray!!! Prof Mike Meadows is elected to the UCT College of Fellows
Professor Michael Meadows is one of four UCT academics elected as UCT College of Fellows for 2018. This is to recognize his original, distinguished academic work.
EGS students scooped best presentation awards at SASAS 2018 Conference
The Environmental and Geographical Science Department post graduate students and staff recently attended the 34th Annual Conference of South African Society for Atmospheric Science. This year’s conference theme was titled “interactions between the...
Home > Home > Home


Monday, 17 June 2019
The EGS department in a joint colobaration comparing Estuaries with China


Knysna  News - A delegation of Chinese professors and students have partnered up with UCT's professor Mike Meadows and students to gather and collect information from the Knysna estuary in a comparative study with the Yangtze estuary, which is one of the world's largest alluvial estuaries, adjacent to the most developed economic zone in China.

Photo: Yaseen Gaffar


Publication Date:
Wed, 11 Apr 2018 - 10:15
Dr Zarina Patel the recipient of our Science Faculty Engaged Scholarship and Social Responsiveness Research Award

Well done, Zarina!

Dr Zarina Patel the recipient of our Science Faculty Engaged Scholarship and Social Responsiveness Research Award.

Publication Date:
Thu, 15 Mar 2018 - 06:45
Remapping Africa through peace parks: What future for the continent?

Peace parks and Africa’s Future

Professor Maano Ramutsindela delivered his inaugural lecture, ‘Remapping Africa through Peace Parks: what future for the continent? on 21 February 2018.

Publication Date:
Tue, 13 Mar 2018 - 07:45
Congratulations to our colleagues in the Department of Environmental and Geographical Sciences!

UCT has been ranked among the top 50 universities in the world in three subjects in the 2018 QS World University Rankings by Subject: development studies, geography and sport. A further eight subjects are in the top 100.

Publication Date:
Mon, 19 Mar 2018 - 10:15