...furthering our knowledge, understanding and management of the interactions between humans and their social, biological and physical life-support systems

Staff and Students

The department is composed of 14 full-time academic staff members and 7 administrative and support staff members. In addition, there are a number of research and postdoctoral fellows as well as visiting academics. A number of the staff members employed by the research units also contribute to teaching and supervision of students.

The department also has a large and diverse postgraduate student population. The number of postgraduate students currently stands at over 100. This is made up of honours, masters and doctoral students.


Dr. Babatunde Joseph AbiodunSenior Lecturer
Dr. Pippin Anderson Lecturer / Postgraduate coordinator
Dr. Jane Battersby-Lennard Lecturer
Dr. Shari Daya Lecturer
Dr. Frank EckardtSenior Lecturer
Prof. Bruce HewitsonProfessor
NRF Chair for Climate Change
Head of the Climate Systems Analysis Group
Dr. Richard HillSenior Lecturer
Prof. Michael MeadowsProfessor
Head of Department
Dr. Sophie OldfieldSenior Lecturer
Prof. Sue ParnellProfessor
Dr. Zarina Patel Senior Lecturer
Prof. Maano RamutsindelaProfessor
Assoc. Prof. Merle SowmanAssociate Professor
Director of the Environmental Evaluation Unit
Dr. Kevin WinterLecturer
Assoc. Prof. Rachel Wynberg Associate Professor
DST/NRF Bio-economy Research Chair
Dr. Gina ZiervogelSenior Lecturer

Administrative Staff

Mrs. Sharon AdamsAdministrative Officer
Ms. Tanya BasadienSenior Secretary

Support Staff

Mr. Tony GeorgeLibrary Assistant
Mr. Sayed HessTechnical Officer
Mr. Chris JackIT Systems Administrator
Mrs. Shaada ReddyLibrarian

Research Associates

Dr. David Fig
Dr. Bruce Frayne

Postdoctoral Researchers

Dr. Brian Chase
Dr. Mark Tadross

Emeritus & Honorary Professors

Prof. John BoardmanHonorary Professor
Prof. Jonathan CrushHonorary Professor from Queen's University, Canada
Prof. Ron DaviesEmeritus Professor
Dr. Neil DewarEmeritus Lecturer
Prof. Richard FuggleEmeritus Professor
Prof. David ThomasHonorary Professor from Oxford University, UK

Copyright 2015 Department of Environmental & Geographical Science | Template design by Nicolas Fafchamps