Staff and Students

The department is composed of 16 full-time academic staff members and 6 administrative and support staff members. In addition, there are a number of research and postdoctoral fellows as well as visiting academics. A number of the staff members employed by the research units also contribute to teaching and supervision of students.

The department also has a large and diverse postgraduate student population. The number of postgraduate students currently stands at over 100. This is made up of honours, masters and doctoral students.

Academic Staff

Prof. Michael Meadows


Prof. Bruce Hewitson

NRF Chair for Climate Change
Head of the Climate Systems Analysis Group

Prof. Sue Panell


Prof. Maano Ramutsindela


Prof. Mark New


Ass. Prof. Sophie Oldfied

Associate Professor

Ass. Prof. Merle Sowman

Associate Professor

Head of Department

Ass. Prof. Rachel Wynberg

Associate Professor
DST/NRF Bio-economy Research Chair

Ass. Prof. Gina Ziervogel

Associate Professor

Ass. Prof. Frank Eckardt

Senior Lecturer

Ass. Prof. Babatunde J. Abiodun

Senior Lecturer

Dr. Pippin Anderson

Senior Lecturer / Postgraduate coordinator

Dr. Kevin Winter

Senior Lecturer

Dr. Shari Daya

Senior Lecturer

Dr. Zarina Patel

Senior Lecturer

Dr. Jane Battersby-Lennard



Administrative Staff

Mrs. Sharon Adams

Administrative Officer

Mrs. Tanya Basadien

Senior Secretary


Support Staff

Mr. Sayed Hess

Technical Officer

Mr. Chris Jack

IT Systems Administrator


Research Associates

Dr. David Fig

Dr. Bruce Frayne


Postdoctoral Researchers

Dr. Brain Chase


Emeritus & Honorary Professors

Prof. Richard Fuggle

Emeritus Professor